Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sarah in Romania
13 août 2010

Monfort puts his foot in it

Nelson Monfort put his foot in it yesterday afternoon with his "Roumanian" gaffe. He was interviewing French swimmer Aurore Mongel at the time. Telling her how very appreciated she was, he remarked that another French swimmer Roxana Maracineanu born in Roumania and consultant for France Télévisions was her greatest fan. He added, "and she is the treasurer of your fan club so watch out because with Roumanians you have to be careful in that respect." Then feeling that his colleagues were about to protest, he added, "but you know I love you, Roxana - I was just kidding." (my translation...)

I'm quite surprised at Nelson Monfort. I thought he had more sense. True, it was a passing little 'joke' but... The last time I wrote about something like this concerned Lambert and his Roumanian salute. I got literally heaps of comments, mostly telling me how it was only a joke and that really, I shouldn't take things so seriously. Someone even said that if I found the French racist then I should leave. (I'm trying, believe me!) Roumanian computer hackers got their own back in a far more intelligent manner several days later with their French salute response which really hit below the belt. So, this time, I'm not going to say anything, knowing that my blog readers will know what I'm thinking without having to say anything at all.

Here's the article from Le Poste with a video (thank you for sending it, Emil). Draw your own conclusions (Putte joke at the end - nice one!).

Drôle de blague de Nelson Monfort: "Avec les Roumains, il faut faire attention..."

icone des tags Gérard Holtz, nelson monfort, Natation, Médias, Sport

Par La rédaction du Post

le 12/08/2010 à 21:41, vu 7601 fois, 70 nombre de réactions

Info publiée par la rédaction du Post

Drôle de blague cet après-midi sur France 2. Nous sommes en direct des championnats d'Europe de natation de Budapest.

Comme chaque jour, les médailles françaises pleuvent.

Et Nelson Monfort, le célébrissime journaliste sportif de la chaîne s'apprête à interroger Aurore Mongel, une nageuse française.

Nelson Monfort fait alors remarquer à la nageuse qu'elle est très appréciée. D'ailleurs, Roxana Maracineanu, nageuse française née en Roumanie et consultante de France Télévisions, est sa "première supportrice". Et le journaliste ajoute: "Et c'est la trésorière de votre fan club, alors attention parce qu'avec les Roumains, il faut faire attention sur ce plan-là".

Puis sentant ses collègues protester, Nelson Monfort rajoute: "Mais vous savez combien je vous aime, Roxana, je dis ça en plaisantant".

Regardez cette séquence.

(Source: France 2, montage: Le Post)

Une séquence qui n'est pas sans rappeler une autre blague, celle de Gérard Holtz pendant le Tour de France 2010. Lorque le peloton a traversé le village belge de Putte, il a dit: "Jamais vu autant de fils de Putte".

Publicité
Commentaires
D
Actually, he is a nice guy - an elderly man, educated and cultured, very well considered in France - was a presenter on Classical radio. I am very surprised that he said something like that, even in passing, since it was aired on TV...and particularly at a time as sensitive as now for Romanians here in France.<br /> <br /> Sarah, I remember your post about Lambert and agreed with what you wrote. It was an excellent post and I am sorry I didn't write. Now I am. I also remember the comments you had - some of which were offensive. <br /> <br /> As long as haphazard comments as this are done in public, how can Romanians hold their heads up in countries like France when they are all treated the same - chicken thieves, beggars, dishonest hoodlums...<br /> The French media is a true disgrace. I am French and I apologise for the latest 'joke' in behalf of the media and French population.
Sarah in Romania
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité