Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sarah in Romania
20 août 2008

Next stop: Iasi

Iasi_Palace_of_CultureDear Everybody,

Back from Timisoara, a few days in Bucharest (with Aura and Aylin,Iasi_3_Ierarhi2 dear Nely, as well as Tantza and Mandita - please spare a thought for poor Nicu, back in hospital again and operated on a broken elbow) and tomorrow off once more, this time to the city of Iasi, Moldavia. I've always wanted to spend time in this city for several reasons. Not only Iasi_Creanga_s_housewas it the birthplace of Milla's father, but it's also a cultural hubbub and known for its churches, monasteries and some drop-dead gorgeous architecture, not least the Palace of Culture (top-most left). Its music and art universities are reknowned and it's not surprising that some of Roumania's finest personalities were born and grew up here: Theodor Pallady, Nicolae Iorga, Mihai Eminescu, Ion Creanga (memorial house above), Mihail Sadoveanu.

I am accompanied by Mihai who's never visited Iasi before either. I will have my laptop this time so I can update the blog each day. I'm so looking forward to this trip. Mihai is in charge of itinerary as he says he has a really good book and is keen to visit all the churches and monasteries in the area. Me too, plus the squares, parks (below right Eminescu's linden tree in Copou Park), memorial houses,Iasi_Eminescu_s_Linden_TRee_Copou_Park museums, galleries...er...we come back to Bucharest Saturday afternoon, so we're going to have to move as if chased by a hundred dogs (which I hope won't be the case).

Iasi_Metropolitan_Cathedral_od_Bucovina_and_MoldaviaChris, if you're reading, please send me your e-mail or mobile number so I can contact you.

Train leaves tomorrow at 12h for the 6.5h trip much slowed by the extreme heat responsable for bending the rails and floods which have caused heaven knows what amount of structural damage. Hotel is booked (thanks to Mihai's parents insistence that we can't arrive without somewhere fixed to go - my usual way of travelling as I love leaving things to chance and seeing where I end up) - decent price, breakfast included, ten minutes from the centre of town and with internet access. Hurrah! I've even remembered my passport. What could possibly go wrong? Nothing! The Full Moon has passed!!!

Love to you all and til soon from the capital of Moldavia which, at present, is sweltering at 29° despite it being 3h in the morning.

Publicité
Commentaires
Sarah in Romania
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité