Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sarah in Romania
20 novembre 2007

Romanian Songs

Hi Everyone,

Since I arrived in Romania on August 10th, it hasn't just been classical, opera and jazz for me - ooooooh no! Here's some other joys for you to check out for yourselves, just in case you mistakenly presumed that all Romanian music had a gypsy beat, mad screechy violins and howling women - not so, my friends. Click on the links below, in order of my preferences of the moment:

'Ma Iubeste Femeile' - Mihai Margineanu ('close the windows when you listen to this' advised Mandita - it's apparently a bit like our Monty Python songs - rather naughty - but as I don't understand the words and neither will the majority of you, it's much of a muchness). I just hear this and want to grab the nearest person for a waltz. It's so catchy.

'Zece' - Florin Chilian. I love this guy's voice and style. It's so '80's ballads' and reminiscent of Bryan Adams and Richard Marx (remember him?) but better.

'Sâ Nu-Mi Iei Niciodata Dragostea' - Holograf. this band is one of the most popular in Romania, and after listening to a few of their songs you can totally understand why.

Here's another: - 'Ti-Am Dat Un Inel' - naff words (I Gave You A Ring) but good song that's particularly affective when you're doing housework.

'Daca Ai Sti' - Directia 5. Another real 80's sounding band, but that's why I like them.

'Stelele Care Cad' - Taxi. This band sang in the Eurovision for Romania in 2000 with a song called Luna. They've got better since then. Here's a jazzy one, reminds me a bit of Style Council but maybe not as good.

'Jumatate Tu, Jumatate Eu' - Stigma. They played this the other night at Limelight and I wanted to find what it was. This is it. Good song.

Enjoy and let me know what you think!

Love, Sarah

 

Publicité
Commentaires
R
Personally I like the gypsy beat of Romanian music - I will never forget the restaurant in Paris wih the music we watched on the TV that Sunday lunch. I love it!!!!
G
Very good selections, my dear! :)
Sarah in Romania
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité